Angel, Islington

Last Thursday one of my favourite people (and flatmate for the final 3 months of our MA) wanted a final gathering of London friends in no other place than one of my favourite London-areas; Angel in Islington. There is something special about this place, it is just so cozy and lovely, and a nice mix between modern and traditional architecture. I spent a few hours there before we were meeting, and then the thought came to me “Why not make an “Angel-guide”?” so that’s what I though I was going to do today.

The area got it’s name from The Angel, which is a grade II listed building on the corner of Islington High Street and Pentonville Road. It also gave it’s name to Angel tube station (Northern Line, Bank branch), which is located in the bottom of Upper Street, the main road through Angel. Upper Street branches out by Islington Green, and turns into Essex Road. By these roads you find the main “sights” in Angel.

Eat

I have been to Angel to eat several times and I have never been disappointed. My favorite places are both Italian (erm I always love italian, so I am a teensy bit biased there…) and were places we found generous, reasonably prices portions and good service/friendly staff. La Vita E Bella in Theberton Street (off Upper Street) had a 3 course lunch with wine for £12 last time I went there, and I would definitely go back! La Divina is located a bit further up Upper Street. It has fun, quirky decor and amazing food. Yum! When that is said…. Just walking up Upper Street will make you want to have an un-filling stomach and eternal amounts of money, because there are soooo many places to eat. I think you could eat somewhere new there every day for weeks! There are also several chain-restaurants in Angel, which seems a lot less busy (at least it has looked that way as I walked by) for example Five Guys, The Breakfast Club, Cabana and The Slug and Lettuce.

IMG_4943
Cabana colour pop, seen from Islington Green

Drink

The Bull is a small-ish pub on Upper Street with two floors, and we were lucky enough to get a table on the top floor. Good draught beers and nice selection in cider and wine, cozy atmosphere and fairly cheap. The Duke of Cambridge is the pub where we actually met last Thursday. Located in St. Peter’s Street (off Essex Road) the area is a bit more quiet which was nice. Good selection of wines in various colors and price ranges, and the most amazing beef bourguignon I have ever had. YUM! Other pubs/bars I have had recommended but not gone to myself are The King’s Head Theatre Pub, 69 Colebrooke Row, The Old Queens Head and Earl of Essex.

IMG_4946
Yummy yummyyyyy! Beef bourguignon at Duke of Cambridge.

Shop

The first thing that comes to mind is of course Camden Passage, a pedestrian street off Upper Street only moments away from Angel tube station. It is packed with quaint shops, antiques and cafes, and makes a really nice break from the hustle and bustle of the surrounding areas. I love walking here, browsing and looking at the nice window displays and buildings. There is also a more ‘conventional’ shopping centre, called The Shopping Centre with entrance between Accessorize and Oasis in Upper Street. It has shops like the ones just mentioned, H&M, Gap and so on as well as cafès/food booths like Pret a Manger, Starbucks and Mr. Pretzel. Also a Vue Cinema and the O2 Academy is located here. You can also continue down Liverpool Road and/or up Chapel Market (pedestrian street) to find foodshops, Superdrug/pharmacies, street vendors and cheap knick-knack shops. Top tip: there is a free public toilet in the shopping centre which is actually quite clean and nice.

Look at/Do

The area in general is just beautiful and the last time I went there I actually managed to venture away from Upper Street/Essex Road and have a proper look around, which is something I would really recommend. Lots of beautiful architecture, quiet side streets and lovely green spaces. Duncan Terrace Gardens and Regent’s Canal are two very beautiful, calm spaces quite close to the main streets, which only makes them more special. I will never get this about London, how only a short distance away from traffic, it can be so quiet. Along the Regent’s Canal there are narrow paths, lovely river boats and back views of houses (even an art gallery!) and it was just a lovely, little walk. The Business Design Centre off Upper Street hold regular fairs and events and is in general a nice building to look at. Everyman Screen on the Green (in Upper Street once again) is part of the Everyman independent cinema chain which is a cinema experience that is a bit different. I haven’t been here, but it is on my list! It looks like an old-school cinema with a lounge and everything.

IMG_4940  IMG_4938 IMG_4936

That was my little “Angel-guide”. There is soooo much more to this area than what I’ve written about here, this is just the tiny piece I have experienced. Please share with me if you have other recommendations, as I am definately going back.

1 thought on “Angel, Islington

  1. Oooh, takk for mange fine tips! Dette skal jeg huske at du har skrevet neste gang jeg tenker meg til London 🙂
    Sv: Ja ganske kjipt med jobben, men sånn er livet i Forsvaret, alltid noe som skal legges ned og flyttes 😛 Jeg jobber med akkurat det samme bare en annen plass, de la ned min avdeling i Bodø, og flyttet alle oss til Ørland 😛 Derfor pendlingen:P

    Like

Leave a comment