Oh dear

I had people over this weekend from Norway, which was lovely. I got to see some sights again! My parents and other friends have been over several times so they have already seen all this, but this particular friend had never been to London before! When they arrived on Friday we walked through Bayswater, Hyde Park past Italian Gardens, Peter Pan, Princess Diana-memorial, Serpentine and out on Hyde Park Corner. From there we walked to Buckingham Palace and up Pall Mall, to Trafalgar Square and then Leicester Square. Then we took the tube to Holborn and our ‘usual pub’.

On Saturday we went to Notting Hill and Portobello Road, then Westminster Abbey, Big Ben and London Eye, walked along Southbank and to Waterloo Bridge, got on a bus to St. Pauls (to catch a little break) and had lunch and coffee near the cathedral, then walked through the City of London and to Tower of London, over Tower Bridge and to London Bridge station. From there we went to Harrods just to have a look. I am not particularly rich or into designer attire, but the food hall at Harrods is amazing and much kinder to your wallet (at least if you choose wisely)! I ended up buying the best macaroon I have ever had (which was huuuuge and tasted of coffee and hazelnut with a filling of rich chocolate and a salted caramel centre – heaven!) and three packs of flavoured black teas; strawberry, apple and mango (amazing as well). After Harrods we started to get hungry so we went to Piccadilly Circus just to have a quick look and then went and ate at an amazing chinese place in Chinatown called Plum Valley. When we finished dinner the shops on Oxford Street were still open for another hour and a half so we went there for a little bit. Then I had to go home as my back was literally killing me… Which is the sign of a good day where lots has been done! These 1,5 days were hard, but a proof that if you really want to, you can see “all” the London sites in two days. If we had a whole day on Friday as well, I would have taken them to Regents Park/Primrose Hill and the Museums in South Kensington, which were the only “famous attractions” we didn’t manage to see on the trip.

IMG_4820
The macaroon (and my diseased-looking hand!)

Sunday my visitors wanted a ‘couples day’, which meant chore-time for me…… I had to start packing for my move next weekend (!!) so I had to get boxes and storage boxes. I also did some food shopping. Went to the gym, my last day at the gym was this Sunday… Now I have to struggle to stay fit, haha. Made dinner, talked to my mom, did some work for the exhibition at uni this Friday. Then watched a movie called ‘Chef’ (it was good!) and slept. A very ordinary day, sadly.

IMG_4825
Last run at the gym and test run without orthotics (which went very well!)

Yesterday I had to take a quick trip to uni in the morning. Then I met my visitors at Oxford Circus. We walked down to Piccadilly Circus through Soho, and on our way we had lunch in Kingly Court at Whyte and Brown. Yuuum! We also had a quick look in Choccywoccydoodaah – a shop where everything is made of or covered in chocolate. We walked from Piccadilly Circus to Covent Garden, had a look around, bought macaroons in Ladurèe, and then it was time for them to leave and me to go back to uni…. I finally finished my exhibition (just have to print, mount and hang it today) and then met my boyfriend to have dinner at Five Guys. Oh dear lord, that was fantastic! A proper messy, sticky burger designed by me, with fries and bottomless drink (I chose raspberry coke zero and made the rookie mistake of filling it up completely, so I only tried that one flavour – haha!) is not frowned upon on a Monday eve. The rest of the evening was spent in bed watching Parks and Recreation, the perfect start of the week after a superbusy weekend!

IMG_4827
Delicious!

Leave a comment